Recovering from the trauma of my birthday in time to wish my mother happy birthday today, who is a much better sport than I am.   Unlike me she has a tremendous, even sometimes scary memory, and can recall in detail the day she had me.  She was so happy because my dad was back from Korea and he had missed the birth of my sister a year before because he was there.
Other thoughts today bring remembrances of harder and better times.  Today is the 70th anniversary of the day the Nazis invaded Poland.   That is not really that long ago.  Thinking of Auden’s lines from-
SEPTEMBER 1, 1939 
I sit in one of the dives
On Fifty-second Street
Uncertain and afraid
As the clever hopes expire
Of a low dishonest decade:
Waves of anger and fear
Circulate over the bright
And darkened lands of the earth,
Obsessing our private lives;
The unmentionable odour of death
Offends the September night.
 
 
The poem goes on to talk about pychopathics and I wonder if we are there again when fascists rule the day and there is the forced march of anti-intellectualism, inhumanity, racism and bigotry. 
Wish I could join Auden in that dive, but I’m still detox boy.  Merde!
